RSS

Review: Lockdown by Alexander Gordon Smith

05 May

5/5 Stars- Loved it!

Goodreads Description

Furnace Penitentiary: the world’s most secure prison for young offenders, buried a mile beneath the earth’s surface. Convicted of a murder he didn’t commit, sentenced to life without parole, “new fish” Alex Sawyer knows he has two choices: find a way out, or resign himself to a death behind bars, in the darkness at the bottom of the world. Except in Furnace, death is the least of his worries. Soon Alex discovers that the prison is a place of pure evil, where inhuman creatures in gas masks stalk the corridors at night, where giants in black suits drag screaming inmates into the shadows, where deformed beasts can be heard howling from the blood-drenched tunnels below. And behind everything is the mysterious, all-powerful warden, a man as cruel and dangerous as the devil himself, whose unthinkable acts have consequences that stretch far beyond the walls of the prison. Together with a bunch of inmates—some innocent kids who have been framed, others cold-blooded killers—Alex plans an escape. But as he starts to uncover the truth about Furnace’s deeper, darker purpose, Alex’s actions grow ever more dangerous, and he must risk everything to expose this nightmare that’s hidden from the eyes of the world.

What a way to kickoff a series! I’ve heard good things about this book, and when I first read the description I knew I would like it. It was thrilling, suspenseful, and downright terrifying at times.

First, the characters. I really liked Alex. He was a smartly written character you cared for. He wasn’t a perfect person, but he made a great protagonist. Donovan and Zee were awesome allies to Alex and provided some comic relief to their depressing situation.

Speaking of their situation, Furnace Penitentiary is definitely a place I NEVER want to visit. The warden gave me the creeps, the dogs were hecka scary, and the wheezers freaked me out! Fortunately, I like a little scary in my books, so it worked for me. But with the creepiness also comes mystery. This book had me asking a lot of questions. I really hope we learn more about Furnace in future books!

There were many suspense-filled scenes as well. The writing leaves you constantly on the edge of your seat. The last 10 pages of the book had me flipping through the pages with my heart pounding to find out how it would end. And the ending certainly did not disappoint. I can’t wait to see what happens in the next one!

Overall: A story with plenty of thrills and chills along with some great characters. I loved it!

Favorite Quotes:

As for favorite quotes, there were a lot of creepy quotes that I really liked, but I’m gonna have you discover them on your own.

Plus, Alex, Donovan, and Zee had some good one-liners too.

 

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
